Board of Directors

Statement of Board of Directors as of January 2017

The South Simcoe Arts Council is an umbrella charitable, non profit, volunteer run organization committed to improving the quality of life through education and involvement in the arts.

Mandate: To foster the cultural enrichment of South Simcoe by developing a widespread appreciation of, support for and involvement with the arts. To continually enhance our collaborations with our community partners, which in turn enrich and enhance arts and culture events.

The South Simcoe Arts Council is very pleased to announce the recent appointment of Len MacLeod as its new Executive Director. As of June 9, 2017, Len commenced managing all of the community activities in which the South Simcoe Arts Council is involved.

Len brings with her an outstanding professional background coupled with strategic management and community involvement and engagement initiatives; all of which began with an Honours Degree in Visual Arts.

Prior to joining our organization, Len lived and worked in Mexico, the West Indies and an Ontario First Nation’s community. As a classroom teacher and later as a Special Education coordinator, Len learned skills central to developing positive cross-cultural awareness and effective advocacy. Len worked in a bilingual, bicultural education resource centre that serviced 24 First Nation’s communities and wrote the K-8 curriculum for The Arts.

Len earned a Master’s Degree from Emmanuel College, University of Toronto, further honing her skills to identify systemic barriers, marginalization and institutionalized oppression.

With a passion for social justice, teaching and The Arts, Len developed and personally fundraised her Drawing for Wellbeing programme, held in Angus, ON, which seeks to overcome barriers and introduce as many as possible to the multi-faceted benefits of The Arts which encourage wellbeing, positive life experiences, confidence and self-esteem.
Naming and helping to remove barriers, while advocating for the marginalized is a priority provincially and federally. We are confident that Len’s prior achievements, which coincide with the current provincial and federal priorities, will greatly assist our strategic growth plans for New Tecumseth and area Arts and Cultural undertakings.

Michelle Eissler
Michelle has a degree in Art & Art History from the University of Toronto, and an Interpretive Illustration diploma from Sheridan College. Having spent many years as an illustrator and fine artist, Michelle was thrilled to join the South Simcoe Arts Council fullfilling various roles such as Arts in Our Community Coordinator, Executive Director and Events Coordinator. Michelle continues to share and volunteer her valuable time and energy to the South Simcoe Arts Council.

Furthering the importance of the arts and encouraging its exposure to the community are a passion of Michelle’s, as she continues to paint and exhibit her own body of work.

Charles Cooper - Treasurer

Financial Education overseeing multi million dollar budgets, IT, Human Resources, Organizational Development and compensation

Dian Bowers - Secretary, Literary Arts

Dian has served as a member of an Executive in Bolton for many years and actively involved with the literary community, volunteers, Board Members utilizing a collaborative approach to attain success.

Jan Atkinson - Director, Youth Arts, Music Festival

35 years elementary teacher, public system in England & Canada. Advocate for special needs students. Volunteer with Literacy Council of South Simcoe,"Next Step", as a tutor (2008). Promoting awareness of the importance of access to the arts in our community for everyone.

Kristina Giammattolo - Vice President

Senior Interior Design, Sales, Senior Management, Organizational Development, Staging, Strategic Planning, Fundraising, Information Technology, Event Planning, Marketing

Lynda Mitchell Reynolds - President

Lynda has been both a full time volunteer since 2008 and most recently in the past number of years she has been the Executive Director.

Her formal college education focused on becoming a Home Economics Teacher / Fashion Design later followed by Business Management & Courts Administration through Sheridan College.

Lynda spent 25 years as a Chief Administrative Officer, Municipal Government The Archipelago and at the County level, followed by several interesting senior intergovernmental assignments.

Acrylic / Decorative Artist

Matthew Rait - Director, Music Festival Committee

(ABD) PhD. Matthew is in the final stages of completing his Doctorate in Music. He has been recognized for his playing, and has had the opportunity to perform in a wide range of settings. Currently Matthew teaches guitar, theory, and ukulele at the Modern Conservatory of Music in Alliston.

Sarah Jane O'Donnell - Director, Social Media

Owner, Operator of successful proven Young People's Theatre, Crazy Pants Theatre Company

Yvonne Hugli - Director, Assists with Data Entry

Strong data entry skills
Textile arts, photography and jewelry
Member of the Nottawasaga Spinners and Weavers and Procyon Wildlife